Skip to main content

5 Former San Francisco 49ers Named to Super Bowl 50 Golden Team

In honor of Super Bowl 50, the Pro Football Hall of Fame announced on Thursday its "Super Bowl 50 Golden Team," recognizing the best overall career performers from the first 50 editions of the big game.

Of the 27 names total, five former San Francisco 49ers players made the cut – one for each of the franchise's five world championships.

Perhaps most notably, Joe Montana beat out Bay Area native and fellow four-time Super Bowl champ Tom Brady for the team's quarterback spot. Terry Bradshaw is the only other signal-caller to win four rings.

Montana was the first player to be named MVP of the game three times. He threw for 11 touchdowns, no interceptions and a 127.8 passer rating in his four Super Bowl appearances.

Jerry Rice, Charles Haley, Ronnie Lott and Deion Sanders rounded out the included 49ers. All five players are enshrined in the Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio.

Rice won three titles, including Super Bowl XXIII, when he totaled 215 receiving yards to win MVP honors. Haley is the only player in NFL history to win five championships (two with the 49ers and three with the Dallas Cowboys). Lott won four Super Bowls and Sanders won two (one with the 49ers and one with the Cowboys).

One notable 49ers great missing from the list is coach Bill Walsh. The Hall of Fame board of selectors instead chose Chuck Noll, who led the Pittsburgh Steelers to four championships. Walsh won three. 

Below is the complete team:

Head coach: Chuck Noll


Every piece of championship jewelry, starting with what the 1967 Green Bay Packers have to memorialize their win.

Quarterback:** Joe Montana

Running back: Franco Harris, Emmitt Smith

Wide receiver: Jerry Rice, Lynn Swann

Tight end: Jay Novacek

Offensive tackle: Art Shell, Forrest Gregg

Offensive guard: Gene Upshaw, Larry Allen

Center: Mike Webster

Defensive end: Reggie White, Charles Haley

Interior linemen: Joe Greene, Randy White

Outside linebacker: Lawrence Taylor, Jack Ham

Inside linebacker: Jack Lambert, Ray Lewis

Cornerback: Mel Blount, Deion Sanders

Safety: Ronnie Lott, Jake Scott

Kicker: Adam Vinatieri

Punter: Ray Guy

Return specialist: Desmond Howard

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.