Skip to main content

Roger Craig among Hall of Fame Semifinalists

Ronnie Lott has spoken.

The Pro Football Hall of Famer wants his former teammate, Roger Craig, to join football's elite club.

Craig has another chance to enter the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2015. The San Francisco 49ers Edward J. DeBartolo Sr. Hall of Fame running back was one of 26 semifinalists for Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2015.

Other semifinalists with 49ers ties included defensive end Charles Haley (1986-91, 99), linebacker Kevin Greene (1997) and wide receiver Issac Bruce (2008-09).

The Hall of Fame field featured 113 nominees and was supposed to be trimmed down to 25 semifinalists. However, there was a tie in the voting process, so 26 names were selected to the next round of the process.

The 26 names will be cut down to 15 in early January. The final Class of 2015 will be selected on Jan. 31 when the Hall of Fame voting committee selects from the 15 modern-era finalist to go with senior committee nominee, Minnesota Vikings center Mick Tingelhoff, who was selected in August.

Bruce is one of eight players who made the semifinalist list in his first year of eligibility. The others included: Torry Holt, Edgerrin James, Ty Law, Kevin Mawae, Orlando Pace, Junior Seau and Kurt Warner.

Here's the complete list of the 26 semifinalists:

Morten Andersen

Steve Atwater

Jerome Bettis

Tim Brown

Isaac Bruce

Don Coryell

Roger Craig

Terrell Davis

Tony Dungy

Kevin Greene

Charles Haley

Marvin Harrison

Torry Holt

Joe Jacoby

Take a look back at the memorable career of the 49ers Hall of Fame running back who played eight seasons for San Francisco.

Edgerrin James

Jimmy Johnson

Mike Kenn

Ty Law

John Lynch

Kevin Mawae

Karl Mecklenburg

Orlando Pace

Junior Seau

Will Shields

Kurt Warner

Darren Woodson

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.