Skip to main content

John Lynch, Roger Craig, Terrell Owens Named Semifinalists for Pro Football HOF Class of 2018

The list of names has been whittled to 27. Each NFL great remaining in consideration hopes to join the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2018. Three prominent members of the San Francisco 49ers, both past and present, are still in the running for football's greatest honor.

General manager John Lynch, former running back Roger Craig and former wide receiver Terrell Owens are among this year's semifinalists.

Before taking the reins of the 49ers front office, Lynch enjoyed a 15-year playing career as one of the league's top safeties. He was a nine-time Pro Bowler, named All-Pro twice and won a Super Bowl with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers. Lynch finished his career with 26 career interceptions, 13 sacks and 1,044 total tackles.

Craig revolutionized the running back position as the NFL's first true dual-threat playmaker. In 1985, he led the league with 92 receptions and caught at least 48 passes in seven different seasons. Craig won three Super Bowl rings, made four Pro Bowl appearances and earned one All-Pro honor. He posted 13,100 career yards from scrimmage and 88 total touchdowns.

Owens was one of the league's most dangerous wideouts for more than a decade, posting 1,000 yards receiving in nine of his 15 seasons in the NFL. He led the league in touchdowns three times (2001, 2002 and 2006) and once in receiving yards per game (2000 with 103.6 yards). In 2005, that number jumped to a career-high 109 yards per game. Owens currently ranks eighth in career receptions (1,078), second in receiving yards (15,934) and third in touchdowns (156).

Here are the other 24 names still up for consideration:

  • Steve Atwater
  • Ronde Barber
  • Tony Boselli
  • Isaac Bruce
  • Leroy Butler
  • Don Coryell
  • Brian Dawkins
  • Alan Faneca
  • Torry Hold
  • Stevev Hutchinson
  • Joe Jacoby
  • Edgerrin James
  • Jimmy Johnson
  • Ty Law
  • Ray Lewis
  • Kvin Mawae
  • Kael Mecklenburg
  • Randy Moss
  • Leslie O'Neal
  • Semeon Rice
  • Richard Seymour
  • Brian Urlacher
  • Everson Walls
  • Hines Ward

The 2018 Hall of Fame inductees will be announced on Feb. 3, 2018.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.