Joe Staley Nominated for 2019 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

For the fifth-consecutive season, Joe Staley has been selected as a nominee for the sixth annual Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award. The award was created in 2014 in honor of the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer Art Rooney, Sr.

The Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award is presented each year to an NFL player who best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition.

Each NFL team nominated one of its players for the award, which recognizes players around the league who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field. A panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community – Warrick Dunn Pro Football Hall of Famer Curtis Martin, Karl Mecklenburg and Leonard Wheeler – will select eight finalists (four in the AFC and four in the NFC) from the 32 nominees. The eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category when players vote on Friday, December 13.

The winner of the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award is determined by a vote of current NFL players. From the eight finalists, each team's players will submit a consensus vote of their choice for the winner. As in Pro Bowl voting, a team cannot vote for its own player.

Staley, 35, is in his 13th NFL season – all with the 49ers.

2019 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award Nominees:

Table inside Article
Arizona CardinalsC A.Q. Shipley
Atlanta FalconsWR Julio Jones
Baltimore RavensQB Lamar Jackson
Buffalo BillsLB Lorenzo Alexander
Carolina PanthersRB Christian McCaffrey
Chicago BearsDB Kyle Fuller
Cincinnati BengalsDE Sam Hubbard
Cleveland BrownsRB Nick Chubb
Dallas CowboysCB Byron Jones
Denver BroncosLB Von Miller
Detroit LionsQB Matthew Stafford
Green Bay PackersCB Tramon Williams
Houston TexansQB Deshaun Watson
Indianapolis ColtsWR T.Y. Hilton
Jacksonville JaguarsDL Calais Campbell
Kansas City ChiefsQB Patrick Mahomes
Los Angeles ChargersLB Thomas Davis Sr.
Los Angeles RamsS Eric Weddle
Miami DolphinsC Daniel Kilgore
Minnesota VikingsDE Danielle Hunter
New England PatriotsWR Matthew Slater
New Orleans SaintsT Terron Armstead
New York GiantsDL Dalvin Tomlinson
New York JetsDL Steve McLendon
Oakland RaidersQB Derek Carr
Philadelphia EaglesQB Carson Wentz
Pittsburgh SteelersRB James Conner
San Francisco 49ersT Joe Staley
Seattle SeahawksLB K.J. Wright
Tampa Bay BuccaneersLB Lavonte David
Tennessee TitansC Ben Jones
Washington RedskinsRB Adrian Peterson