Skip to main content

DeBartolo Leads 49ers Honorary Captains


The San Francisco 49ers announced that Edward J. DeBartolo Jr., Charles Haley and Bryant Young will serve as the team's honorary game captains during the coin toss before the NFC Championship Game against the Falcons on Sunday in Atlanta.

Edward J. DeBartolo Jr. is widely regarded as one of the most successful owners in the history of professional sports after taking over the 49ers in 1977. In 23 years at the helm, "Mr. D" guided the 49ers to a 22-11 postseason record and 13 division titles as San Francisco became the first franchise in NFL history to win five Super Bowl Championships (1981, '84, '88, '89 and '94). The 49ers reached the playoffs on 16 occasions during DeBartolo's final 18 seasons as owner, posting a 207-72-1 regular season record. Mr. D is again a finalist for the Pro Football Hall of Fame this year and was inducted into the Edward J. DeBartolo Sr. 49ers Hall of Fame in 2009.

Charles Haley ranks second in 49ers history with 66.5 career sacks after being selected by the team in the fourth round of the 1986 NFL Draft as the 96th overall selection. He began his career with San Francisco as a linebacker and won two Super Bowl titles with the team in 1988 and 1989. He played for the Dallas Cowboys from 1992-1996 and finished his career back with the Niners for a final season in 1999. In his career, he tallied 100.5 sacks, two interceptions, seven forced fumbles and eight fumble recoveries. A five-time Super Bowl Champion, Haley is again a finalist for the Pro Football Hall of Fame this year.

Bryant Young was selected seventh overall by the San Francisco 49ers in the 1994 NFL Draft and earned NFL Rookie of the Year honors after leading the team's defensive line with 49 tackles and also tallying six sacks. In the NFL, Young spent his entire 14-year career as a member of the San Francisco 49ers. He played in and started 208 games in his 49ers career, second in team history only to Jerry Rice (224). Young finished his career with 89.5 sacks, 11 forced fumbles and seven fumble recoveries. The 49ers reached the playoffs in each of his first five seasons, including a victory in Super Bowl XXIX during his rookie year.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.