Skip to main content

Anquan Boldin Wins NFLPA Service Award

The NFL Players Association announced an award of $100,000 to the Anquan Boldin Foundation for winning the prestigious Byron "Whizzer" White Award, the highest honor given to a player by the NFLPA. The award is being presented at the annual NFLPA Player Representative meetings in Orlando during the joint session of active and former NFL players and honors the player who serves his team, community and country in the spirit of Byron Raymond "Whizzer" White. The late Supreme Court Justice was a scholar, athlete, patriot, humanitarian and public servant – the personification of the ideal to which professional football players aspire.

Congrats to @AnquanBoldin for winning the Byron "Whizzer" White Award. NFLPA gives this award for off-the-field service — Jed York (@JedYork) March 20, 2014

Boldin is an 11-year NFL veteran and four-time Pro Bowl wide receiver who has played his career with the Arizona Cardinals, Baltimore Ravens and is now with the San Francisco 49ers. The Anquan Boldin Foundation's mission is to expand the educational and life opportunities of underprivileged youth.  The "Q81 Foundation" is embarking on 10 years this April and has showcased charitable activities in Phoenix, Baltimore, South Florida and most recently in Boldin's new home of San Francisco.  The area where Boldin is truly passionate is his hometown of Pahokee, Florida and the surrounding areas known as "the Glades."  This area is one of an extremely economically-challenged community in the state of Florida. Boldin has also been involved with Oxfam America, Wounded Warriors and the United Way campaigns.

Heading onto @NFLAM right now to talk football & about #QFest2014. For more info about our 10th Annual Q-Fest: — Anquan Boldin (@AnquanBoldin) March 20, 2014

All 32 teams voted for nominees during the regular season and the NFLPA reviewed 54 applications, with each applicant awarded $5,000 for his foundation or charity of his choice. The judges, Domonique Foxworth, Kevin Mawae, Charlie Batch, Mike Kenn and Trace Armstrong, narrowed the applicants down to five finalists. The other finalists were: Davin Joseph (Tampa Bay Buccaneers), Stephen Tulloch (Detroit Lions), Matthew Slater (New England Patriots) and Vonta Leach (Baltimore Ravens).


This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.