Anquan Boldin Nominated for NFL's 'Walter Payton Man of the Year' Award

The NFL announced the 32 players who have been named their team's "Man of the Year," the list includes San Francisco 49ers wide receiver Anquan Boldin.

Boldin was selected for his continued work with his own charity, the "Q81 Foundation."

He's also helped the 49ers Foundation and other charitable organizations, providing tremendous support for those in need. 

In addition, Bodin has testified before Congress about access to clean water in Africa on behalf of Oxfam. He has also provided college scholarships to underresourced youth, plus orchestrated toy drives and shopping sprees for low income kids. He participates in "49ers Community Monday" events, along with his family, too.

From granting scholarships to forming foundations promoting literacy, to getting kids active, these 32 players represent the best of the NFL's commitment to philanthropy and community impact and are now eligible to win the "Walter Payton Man of the Year" award, presented by Nationwide.

Three of these nominees will be selected as finalists for the award, named for the legendary Bears running back who died in 1999. Finalists will be announced in January 2015.

The winner will be announced in Arizona, the site of Super Bowl XLIX, during the fourth annual "NFL Honors" awards show, a two-hour primetime special to air nationally on Saturday, January 31, from 9-11 p.m. ET on NBC.

Each of the 32 team nominees receive a $1,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to the charity of their choice.  The three finalists will receive an additional $5,000 donation, and the winner will receive an additional $20,000 donation in his name. 

"We admire and support the important work that these players and so many other NFL players are doing to serve their communities," said NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell. "The NFL is filled with outstanding young men who help schools, shelters, and countless other organizations and good causes. We thank our players for recognizing the positive impact they can have in the lives of their fellow citizens and seizing that opportunity to make difference."

Boldin posted his initial reaction to the news on social media:

As announced in July, Nationwide is the presenting sponsor of the award for the first time this year. The "Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year" award is the only league award that recognizes a player's off-the-field community service as well as his playing excellence.

For more information on the team nominees and the award, visit

A list of team nominees is below:



Arizona Cardinals

Calais Campbell

Atlanta Falcons

Matt Bryant

Baltimore Ravens

Torrey Smith

Buffalo Bills

Fred Jackson

Carolina Panthers

Thomas Davis

Chicago Bears

Jay Cutler

Cincinnati Bengals

Vincent Rey

Cleveland Browns

Craig Robertson

Dallas Cowboys

DeMarco Murray

Denver Broncos

Ben Garland

Detroit Lions

Stephen Tulloch

Green Bay Packers

Aaron Rodgers

Houston Texans

Andre Johnson

Indianapolis Colts

Pat McAfee

Jacksonville Jaguars

Josh Scobee

Kansas City Chiefs

Tamba Hali

Miami Dolphins

Olivier Vernon

Minnesota Vikings

Chad Greenway

New England Patriots

Devin McCourty

New Orleans Saints

Thomas Morstead

New York Giants

Steve Weatherford

New York Jets

Muhammad Wilkerson

Oakland Raiders

Marcel Reece

Philadelphia Eagles

Connor Barwin

Pittsburgh Steelers

William Gay

San Diego Chargers

Philip Rivers

San Francisco 49ers

Anquan Boldin

Seattle Seahawks

Russell Wilson

St. Louis Rams

Johnny Hekker

Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Vincent Jackson

Tennessee Titans

Jason McCourty

Washington Redskins

Darrel Young

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.