Skip to main content

49ers Announce Edward DeBartolo Sr. 49ers Hall of Fame

The San Francisco 49ers and the York family announced the creation of the Edward DeBartolo Sr. 49ers Hall of Fame. Dedicated to Edward DeBartolo Sr., the patriarch of one of the most storied franchises in all of professional sports, the Hall of Fame has been established to recognize players, coaches and executives who have made exceptional contributions to the organization.

"As someone who was raised alongside 49ers legends," said team President Jed York, "I am honored to be announcing the creation of the Edward DeBartolo Sr. 49ers Hall of Fame. This exclusive group will be comprised of those who have made our franchise what it is today."

As a prerequisite for induction, all 49ers Hall of Fame candidates must have displayed one or more of the following qualifications: outstanding production and performance on the field, key contributions to the team's success, and/or the embodiment of the spirit and essence of the San Francisco 49ers.

Those members of the 49ers family who have had their jersey numbers already retired by the organization or have been selected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio, have been automatically enshrined in the 49ers Hall of Fame by the organization. A plaque with their likeness will be displayed prominently in the Hall of Fame at Candlestick Park. The initial members of the Hall of Fame will be recognized formally during Alumni Weekend on October 11, 2009, when the 49ers host the Atlanta Falcons.

The following alumni qualify for automatic enshrinement in the
Edward DeBartolo Sr. 49ers Hall of Fame

John Brodie
Dwight Clark
Fred Dean
Jimmy Johnson
John Henry Johnson
Charlie Krueger
Ronnie Lott
Hugh McElhenny
Joe Montana
Leo Nomellini
Joe Perry
Bob St. Clair
Y.A. Tittle
Bill Walsh
Dave Wilcox
Steve Young

"In the near future, we will share with our fans the Hall of Fame's inaugural inductee," said York, "An individual who embodies the excellence this franchise continues to strive for each and every day."

Following the announcement of the Hall of Fame's inaugural 2009 inductee, the 49ers organization will enshrine at least two members in ensuing years. The selection committee will present ownership with an annual list of candidates. Fans will then have the ability to help select each year's induction class via the team's official website,

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.