On Now
Coming Up
  • There are no Events to display in this category.

Print
RSS

49ers to Play in London in 2013

Posted Oct 11, 2012

The National Football League today announced that the San Francisco 49ers will battle the Jacksonville Jaguars in London, England on Sunday, October 27, 2013 at historic Wembley Stadium. It will mark the fourth game the 49ers have taken part in at Wembley Stadium, including two regular season matchups and two preseason contests. FOX will broadcast the game in the United States beginning at 10:00 a.m. PT (1:00 p.m. ET & 5:00 p.m. UK).

The Jaguars will serve as the home team in the matchup.

“The 49ers are excited and privileged to once again serve as ambassadors for the NFL and the game of football internationally,” said 49ers Chief Executive Officer Jed York. “Our 2010 experience in London was tremendous. The atmosphere at Wembley Stadium on game day was electric. The ability for us to share 49ers football with our Faithful fans internationally is a treat for everyone in our organization.”

The game marks the 11th time the 49ers will play on the international stage, and just their third regular season game. The team’s most recent trip to the UK occurred on October 31, 2010, as the 49ers defeated the Denver Broncos, 24-16, in front of a sellout crowd of 83,941.

“Competing on an international stage is a great opportunity for our football team,” said 49ers General Manager Trent Baalke. “Our coaches, players and staff take great pride in representing the 49ers organization, as well as the National Football League. The support we received from fans in the UK during our 2010 trip was truly special, and the team looks forward to once again playing at Wembley Stadium next October.”